I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

5 places I would like to visit again

20 Comments

Bevchen at Confuzzledom nominated me (ages ago now) as part of the Booked.netTop Destinations to Go There promotion.  The idea is to suggest five destinations I would like to return to, with photos, and then nominate five other bloggers to do the same.  I’m lucky enough to have travelled to many wonderful places, both at home and in the wider northern hemisphere (the southern hemisphere is on my list!) so it has been really heard to decide which five to include here.

Disneyland, Paris

Disneyland Paris

The Disney skyline with Sleeping Beauty’s castle

I’m starting with Disneyland Paris because I keep saying I would like to go back there (more so than any other place apparently).  It was my first introduction to the Disney ‘experience’ and, while I have loved every visit I have made to the theme parks of Orlando, Florida, I’ve always remembered the ‘awe and wonder’ of the Paris park.  We went about 15 years ago and I just loved the cleverness of it all –  the look of the park, the fun of the excellent rides, the fireworks (I had never seen such a wonderful display before), the range of hotels, everything…

Iceland

the blue lagoon, Iceland

The fabulous Blue Lagoon geothermal spa

I have been to Iceland twice.  The first time I went, in April 1982 I think, was the first time I went anywhere on an aeroplane.  Previous travels had been by car (family touring holidays in Scotland and France) or boat (Scandinavian and Mediterannean cruises when I was at school) so it was with trepidation that I took to the air.  I didn’t particularly enjoy the flight, but found the country fascinating and really enjoyed the long weekend I spent there.  I went again 18 months ago, in the hope of seeing the Aurora Borealis, but it rained for almost the whole time so that was that, although we still had an interesting time.  We visited Gulfoss waterfall, Rekjavik, Thingvellir National Park, the Geysir thermal area and, best of all, the fabulous Blue Lagoon where we spent an afternoon and where it didn’t rain (typical).  I’d like to go back again for two reasons – 1) to explore the northern part of the country, and 2) maybe to see the northern lights!

Boston

photo credit: bostonducktours.com

photo credit: bostonducktours.com

I spent a few days here several years ago and would love to go back to spend more time, and to see more.  What I did see was very interesting, but it was really too much of a whistestop tour.  We went on a Duck Tour which took us round the city on an authentic, renovated World War II amphibious landing vehicle.  Our guide was great fun and he was full of facts and insights into the city.  We also walked Boston’s Freedom Trail,  with a guide dressed in 18th century costume, and took a bus to the Italian quarter where we ate one of their famous cannolis.  The weather was mainly wet, which was a shame, but I really enjoyed my visit.  If I returned, in addition to exploring more of the city, I would like to go outside Boston itself and see the outlying countryside and small towns.  Perhaps I’d like to go in the autumn and see some of the famous fall colours.  I’d also be hoping to take lots of photos because I seem to have mislaid all but one of the photos I took, which is a shame, because it is a very picturesque place.

Venice

grand canal view from terrace

the Grand Canal complete with parked gondolas

I loved the atmosphere of Venice, and the fact that it looked just like it does in the postcards!  It was August when we were there, and the sunshine on the warm terracotta coloured buildings, and the water of the Grand Canal reflecting the blue of the sky was beautiful.  I’d like to go back and walk again in the narrow streets and little squares between the canals, have a coffee in St Mark’s square then climb to the top of the Basilica to see the fabulous view.  I’d like to visit some of the places we didn’t have time to see; the Lido, or the glass makers in Murrano (we saw one of the factories, but none of them were operating because it was holiday time).  I’d like to go to a museum and/or gallery, or maybe I would like to go back when it is Carnevale and see all the people in their fabulous costumes and masks.

 

The South of France

This is a rather general area because I couldn’t narrow it down to just one town or village.  I think I was 17 when I went, with my family, on my first trip to the south of France.  We drove from our home not far from Glasgow, making several overnight stops on the way to our campsite in the hills above St Tropez on the south coast.  One overnight stop I remember vividly was the small town of Annecy, which I thought was one of the prettiest places I had ever seen.

Lake Annecy

Lake Annecy

I loved everything about being in the south of France – the weather,  the countryside and the excitement of being near to such a fashionable resort.  We explored the area and I remember driving through the camargue, with the white horses,  and visiting the town of Grasse where perfume was (and probably still is) famously made as well as going into St Tropez itself where the size of the yachts, the pavement cafes and the beautiful sun-tanned people were things to marvel at.  I’ve been back to the south of France several times (another twice on family holidays then several times with Mr Decisive), but would very much like to go back again.

My photos from that very first trip haven’t stood the test of time very well, so I have only posted a couple of them.

The camargue

White horses! Well, it is the camargue.

I hope you have enjoyed my five places – maybe they are places you have been to and enjoyed, or maybe they are places you would never want to set foot in again!  I am supposed to nominate five other bloggers at this point, but it’s too hard, so if you fancy sharing your top five, then please do – I am looking forward to reading about them.

20 thoughts on “5 places I would like to visit again

  1. I’ve never been to Iceland but I would love to. It looks so beautiful!

    I want to go to Venice again because when I went the people I was with claimed it was “too touristy” and “not that special” so I ended up being rushed around at lightning speed. Also, it was just after New Year so it got dark really early.

    • Iceland is beautiful in a very rugged sort of way, but the Blue Lagoon had its own different sort of beauty. Venice was very ‘touristy’ but then I was being a tourist, so I just accepted it! As soon as we went away from the main places and along the little alleyways and canals, it was quite quiet, and that was in August.

  2. Lovely choices, there are so many places on my wishlist and just not enough time (or money!)

  3. Iceland looks fantastic. If you come back to the South of France and particularly the Camargue, send me a message ‘cos I’m not far! Just give me time to get the bottle of rosé in the fridge!

  4. I’ve never been to Iceland (nor Boston) but would really like to. I’ll pass on Eurodisney as I went umpteen times with my kids over the years.

  5. I’ve been nominated a couple of times, but haven’t got around to writing a post, because, well, because I find it so difficult to think of only five places to revisit. Although the competition element of this must be long passed, I may try my hand at a post.

    As for your choices:
    1. Never felt the need to visit Disneyland on any continent, but my grandchildren went to the Paris one this year (and what a palaver booking that was) and thoroughly enjoyed it. VERY expensive though!
    2. Iceland is another place I haven’t been to, though nearly booked a trip a couple of years ago. It looks amazing and I’d love to hire a car and head north there away from the crowds to see that landscape.
    3. I have spent a few days in Boston too – in the autumn and I was rather disappointed with it. I don’t know why. But I loved the White Mountains (leaf peeping) and Cape Cod. I’d return to either of those destinations in a shot!
    4. Venice on a day trip, so yes I’d like to return and explore more. It was awfully hot when we went (June) and crowded, so maybe November or January.
    5. South of France hasn’t hit my radar either, though I am sure I’d love it down there. I still want to go to Provence, so one day, maybe.

    • This must win the prize for the longest comment on any of my posts! In fact, it might actually be longer than the post I wrote. 🙂 I’d like to go back to Venice in one of the cooler months actually, although if it was a choice of hot weather, or not going at all, I’d take the hot weather.
      When I visit Boston again I definitely want to take the time to explore the mountains and Cape Cod.
      I think Disney is a bit like marmite – I hate marmite, but love Disney – all very cheesy, but enjoyable.
      Provence is beautiful – that’s where we focused most of our attention on our south of France trips. You should definitely have that on your list. 🙂

  6. Love the fairytale Disney photo, Elaine. I’ve been to the 2 Stateside parks but not Paris.
    I have a friend over in Boston right now- on a New England in the fall tour. 🙂 Of your choices the South of France is the one I’d go for. I always wanted to see the Camargue horses and Carcasson, maybe with the Canal du Midi too. Oh, we can dream!
    Thanks for sharing 🙂

  7. Venice is one of my favourite destinations ever. 🙂 Iceland looks really beautiful.

  8. Iceland is awesome Place, but in Scandinavia there are other countries worth for a visit also.

Now it's your turn

