I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

A visit to the Minack Theatre, Cornwall

16 Comments

Minack Theatre

When we were in Cornwall during the summer, we went to see the famous open air Minack Theatre, near Porthcurno. The Minack Theatre is the result of the determination and ingenuity of Rowena Cade, who moved to the area in the 1920s and bought the Minack Headland for £100.  She built a house there, and was part of a group which staged plays in the garden.  She thought it would be much better if the productions were performed in a stepped theatre, and so began planning, and building, one into the rocks, with a sheer drop into the Atlantic ocean. With the help of two local craftsmen it took her six months to build a simple stage and seating, and over the following seven years it was improved and extended into the marvellous 750-seat theatre we see today.

Minack theatre seating

The seats are all carved with the names of productions that have been performed here since its first performance, The Tempest, in 1932.

carved seats in the Minack theatre

What a backdrop for a play…

marvellous backdrop

You can see the lighting, ready for the next evening performance…

rugged coastline

looking down on the stage

The views are simply stunning…

stunning view from Minack theatre

I’ll leave you with one of my favourites – agapanthus flowers and the sea…

Minack agapanthus

16 thoughts on “A visit to the Minack Theatre, Cornwall

  1. what a cool theatre – and your down vie of it is nice

  2. Wow, what an amazing place. It’s definitely on my bucket list!

  3. Sniff. Now I want to go home for a pint and a pasty. I’m very proud of my region though – boy, do I love the Cornish coastline.

  4. I went there as a child. It looks even more dramatic in your photos than I remember it. You really feel like the actors might fall off the edge.

  5. Wasn’t it an inspired idea, Elaine? I’ve seen photos before but never of the seats with the performance names on. I really like that. 🙂

  6. Oh wow, Elaine, what a fabulous theatre! And, as you say, what a great backdrop.

  7. Rowena must have been a woman of vision and determination to achieve this. How lovely that it is there forever. And what an amazing view.

  8. A wonderful idea to have an open air theatre in such a beautiful setting, Elaine. Love those engraved seats. I was going to ask you if the seats were comfortable and what the acoustics were like, but I think you didn’t actually attend a performance there. The agapanthus are lovely. 🙂

Now it's your turn

