I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

That was the blogging year that was

33 Comments

THAT WAS THE YEAR THAT WAS

Perhaps this post would have been done more appropriately at the end of last year, but I thought I would be a little different and kick off the new blogging year with a look back at the old one!

My busiest day last year was January 3rd (I wonder if it will be the same this year!).  The post of the day was this one about my Christmas tree decorations.

The post that got the most views over the year was the one about Mary Berry’s Lemon Drizzle Cake.

My top five commenters were The Eternal Traveller, Another Day In Paradise, Restless Jo, Expat Eye and HeyJude.  If you don’t already follow their blogs, then I highly recommend them – between them they will entertain you with stories of their travels, photos of beautiful scenery, observations on life and a great sense of humour.

The top search terms of the year were any combination of at least two of the following words – Mary Berry, lemon, drizzle, cake.

The most amusing/interesting search terms were (and the pickings were very poor here since the way search terms are recorded was changed) –

Australian sheep farms (I expect whoever landed on my blog following that search would have been a little bit disappointed at my lack of knowledge beyond that which I got from my 1960s school book and wrote a post about!)

party garden elephant (now there’s a new idea – hire an elephant to put in your garden when you have a party – maybe I could start a new trend!)

So, here’s to another year of enjoyable blogging and reading of other people’s blogs.  Thanks to everyone who has visited me, or left a comment – you have been excellent company, and it is good to know that I am not just talking to myself.

Happy New Year!

chickennewyear2

This post is for Six Word Saturday.  Visit Cate at Show My Face to find more sets of six words.

33 thoughts on “That was the blogging year that was

  1. The strangest search items is always a good topic! Mine are probably the weird juxtaposition of “Marilyn Monroe” and “dung beetles”!

  2. Party garden elephant.. excellent!

  3. Bonne Année!

  4. Happy New Year to you, Elaine! Hope you had a wonderful Christmas. 🙂 I have a late Christmas present with Rafa playing in Abu Dhabi, even if he’s still a little rusty. It’s lovely to have him back.
    Thanks very much for the mention. It’s always a pleasure to come here.

  5. Happy New Year and I look forward to more Saturday posts.

  6. Good Morning (here, afternoon there), Judy.
    HAPPY NEW YEAR !!!
    I think the guy watching the clock blinked, IT MOVED !!!
    ..

  7. May 2015 be even more rewarding!

    Six Words and Shadows

  8. Thank you for the mention! Visiting your blog always makes me smile – search terms can be amusing, someone on my blog was looking for sexy jane from george (Western Cape) and another one wanted to know how to make a rondavel cake on you tube! 😉

  9. ¸☆´.•´
    .•´✶`*.
    *.*★v . ✶•´ ☆´,•*´¨★ Ձ๏15
    ¸✶.•´¸.•*´✶
    ☆´¸.•★´ ¸.✶* ☆★
    ۩๑ ӇƛƤƤƳ ƝЄƜ ƳЄƛƦ!﹗๑۩

    much love…

  10. Cheers – to more blogging fun in 2015, Elaine. And a very happy one!

  11. I’m happy to be one of your most frequent commenters, Elaine. I also love your sense of humour. 🙂 Happy New Year.

  12. Although I only make it here on Saturdays, I enjoy reading those posts. I may visit more often with recent health developments.

  13. Wishing you a wonderful 2015!

  14. I am honoured to be a frequent commenter here Elaine. Happy New Year to you. May it be full of wonderful posts!

  15. Ha, I like that cartoon! Glad to be a frequent commenter – thanks for the plug! 🙂

Now it's your turn

