I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

The Art of the Lego Brick

27 Comments

A ticket to The Art of the Brick exhibition, currently in London, was my birthday present from my daughter.

Nathan Sawaya is a New York-based artist and has created fabulous works of art with Lego bricks. His work is obsessively and painstakingly crafted and includes pieces from his own imagination in addition to representations of well known works of art.  Over a million bricks have been used to create the pieces and you can only marvel at his patience in building them.

My photos give an idea of what they pieces were like, some more successfully than others.  The exhibition space has black walls, a black floor and a black ceiling, and the pieces were lit by spotlights.  We were not allowed to use flash, so my poor camera had a bit of an uphill struggle (I know, a bad workman blames his tools…) to capture everything clearly and sharply.

The first part of the exhibition was full of well known works – click on any photo to start a slideshow.

Although I admired the large sculptures, I think my favourites in that section were the paintings.

On to the next section of the exhibition now –

The pictures which follow were very clever, sort of optical illusions – when I looked at the first picture on the wall, I couldn’t work out who/what it was, but as soon as I held up my camera to take a photo, and saw it on the display screen, it became clear.

It was an amazing exhibition and at the end of it there was a room with lots of Lego in it so that you could try to build a masterpiece of your own, except I didn’t have the time as we had a lunch booking at a restaurant which overlooks St Paul’s Cathedral. Of course no exibition is complete without the gift shop which encouraged you to part with your hard earned £££££ on the way out.  I was very good and only bought a keyring!

St Paul's Cathedral

Our view from the restaurant.

It was an excellent birthday outing!

27 thoughts on “The Art of the Lego Brick

  1. Absolutely incredible. What a wonderful idea for a birthday gift! Ming was 21 yesterday and I could NOT think of a single gift idea even though I am usually very creative – ended up giving him money for a trip.

  2. It looks like a wonderful exhibition. I remember the sound of my lego disappearing up my mothers hoover.

  3. Wow, that is really amazing! 🙂

  4. Ooh – happy birthday, Elaine. I used to love Lego, and used to make fabulous walls. Nothing as creative as this though!

  5. What an interesting exhibition and what a great idea for a birthday gift. My favourite is the Venus de Milo. Aren’t some people amazingly clever and patient.

  6. Wow. I never knew Legos could be used to create such magnificent art. It makes me want to play with Legos again. Thanks for sharing your experience!

  7. Wow, what a talented artist! They are amazing!!

  8. Intriguing, Elaine! Whereabouts was the exhibition? I can Google it, of course. I’m in London very briefly soon but wanted to do a free guided walk if I can fit it in. 🙂

  9. I love your blog! I found you via Mrs. M’s Meanderings. This lego art is amazing.

  10. All of the pieces were amazing!

  11. wow i’m amazed thats awesome i luv that lol

  12. Pingback: Lego | I used to be indecisive...

Now it's your turn

