I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Friday letters – the post election edition

17 Comments

Dear General Election,  Thank goodness you are over for another five years.  I was beginning to get snowed under by all the campaign leaflets/posters/begging letters that were coming through the door on a daily basis.

Dear cherry blossom,  Oh well, you were lovely while you lasted (and you lasted a long time!).  The heavy rains and fierce winds of the last few days have finished you off.  I’m looking forward to seeing you again next spring.

Dear pile of books,  Well, that’s another one of you finished with and removed from the pile!  Not that I completed it, but I had had enough so I decided life was too short, and the pile still too high, for me to waste any more time – I did get halfway through, though,  before I decided that Far From the Madding Crowd was just not my kind of novel.

Dear car,  I am not impressed that you decided to have a ‘funny turn’ the other morning and not start.  Thankfully, after ignoring you for 24 hours, you started again properly and were fine, but I’m not very happy with you.  If this happens again I may have to start thinking of replacing you,  even though you have given me 12 years of faithful service.  Take this as your warning…

Dear bluebells,  You are looking wonderful again this year. 

bluebells May 2015

Have a good Friday everyone.

17 thoughts on “Friday letters – the post election edition

  1. Pretty bluebells!
    The less said about the election results the better, I feel.

  2. Love the bluebells. I wonder what the result of the British Bird election is?

  3. Your Friday Letter always makes me smile, Elaine. I hope your car has decided to behave after being sent to Coventry for a day. 🙂

  4. A cute Friday letter, Elaine. I hope your car is doing better. I don’t like intermittent problems with cars. Suddenly, you lose trust, and that’s not a good thing to lose with a car! Were you pleased or unhappy with the election results? As for Far From the Madding Crowd, I’ve never read it, but I see the movie is out now. 🙂

  5. Elaine, I love Far From the Madding Crowd! All I can say about the election is think yourself lucky you get five years. Here we have three year terms, and they often go early if they think it will end in a favourable result. Gaaah! Lovely bluebells.

    • The story was ok, but I found it all very wordy and I just wanted to get on with it and not have to plough through long, long descriptions of sheep or, as at the very start of the book, Gabriel Oak’s pocket watch! General elections every three years must generate even more trees’ worth of paper. 🙂

  6. I agree with your comment “life was too short, and the pile still too high” in regard to the books you are reading. Sometimes life is just like that and there comes a time to reduce the sum of the ‘pile’ or cull some things from the ‘to do’ list.

    Stumbled upon your blog and I like!!

Now it's your turn

