I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Five Photos, Five Stories #1

27 Comments

DAY ONE OF A NEW CHALLENGE

I’ve been invited to take part in the “Five Photos, Five Stories” challenge by Jude of Travel Words.The challenge is quite simply to “post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge”.

Here’s my first photo

beach huts in CromerThese are beach huts in the Norfolk seaside town of Cromer.  I love the colours in the photo – the huts, the sea and the sky.  We were in Cromer in September 2013 visiting friends, and had walked from their house, along the coastal path, down onto the beach and past these lovely huts as we headed towards the town (you can see the pier in my photo, in the distance).  Less than three months later, at the beginning of December, Cromer was hit by a dreadful storm, causing a tidal surge which badly damaged the pier, and demolished the beach huts.  They have been rebuilt, but it is so sad to think that the ones in this photo are no longer.

My nomination is Bev at Confuzzledom.   There is no obligation to join in, just if you fancy it.

Hope you have a good Saturday.

This post is for Six Word Saturday.  Visit Cate’s blog  Show My Face for more sets of six words.

27 thoughts on “Five Photos, Five Stories #1

  1. Those beach huts are so cute. It’s too bad they were destroyed. At least you recorded them for all posterity!! And it’s nice they’ve been rebuilt. 🙂

  2. Beautiful color, beautifully recorded. Salute. Good luck with the challenge.

  3. I love beach huts. A colleague of my Dad had one at Bournemouth and we used to swap homes at holiday time, spending every day at the hut, making tea on a smelly primus I’m glad the Cromer ones have been rebuilt.

  4. Yes, the colours of the photo are very beautiful.
    Enjoy the challenge.

  5. Oh, what a lovely first post!! And about beach huts, over which I am more obsessed than benches! I love the composition of this image, the curve of the railings, the different tones of blue and the fact that you have captured these before they were destroyed. Nice one Elaine 😀

    • Can we expect a beach hut series next year? I just stopped and took a quick snap as we were walking along the path, but I have to say I am very pleased with the composition. 🙂

      • Now there’s a thought. I actually wondered to myself when I saw this photo why I had gone down the bench route, as beach huts have been a favourite for years! Maybe because you don’t come across them unless you are by the sea, which I am not. I do belong to a Flickr beach hut group – how sad is that?

        • As you say, you only come across beach huts at the seaside, whereas benches can be anywhere. Also, not every seaside spot has any huts . I definitely associate them more with England and can’t remember seeing them on our Scottish seaside visits (although I might be proved wrong). No, it’s not sad to belong to a Flickr beach hut group – there could be much worse things to belong to. 🙂

  6. lovely photo and isn’t it nice these were rebuilt!

  7. Interesting challenge. Terrific photo.

  8. It’s fun to do challenges, especially creative ones! Sometimes I need a little push to tap into my imagination more!

  9. I am glad these were rebuilt, but understand the sadness when you reminisce. Nice photo. I like the real stories the best.

  10. Our region just got hit with the worst flooding in decades. A lot of basements were flooded and businesses damaged, along with other devastation. So, this post seems particularly relevant. 😦

    • Oh dear, I’m sorry to hear about the flooding. I haven’t experienced it myself but lots of people in some parts of the country had bad flooding last year, so I have seen the effects and it is pretty bad. I hope you haven’t suffered too much yourself.

  11. Neatly done, combining the two, Elaine. What a super first photo! (thanks for sounding me out- sometimes the hardest part of the challenges is who to pass them on to, and this one’s been running a good while) 🙂 I love Cromer. Such a nice old fashioned seasidey place.

  12. All those shades of blue are lovely in this photo Elaine.

  13. Love this photo. It has such a lovely summery feel to it. 🙂

Now it's your turn

