I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Five Photos, Five Stories #3

20 Comments

I’ve been invited to take part in the “Five Photos, Five Stories” challenge by Jude of Travel Words.The challenge is quite simply to “post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge”.

Here’s my third photo

view from FiraThis is a view from the town of Fira in Santorini, which must be one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited.  One of our favourite things to do was to take the local bus from the other side of the island, where we were staying,  into the town of Fira and find a cafe, or bench, where we would sit and watch the world go by, and the ships and boats coming and going.

My nomination for today is Jo at RestlessJo.   There is no obligation to join in, it’s just if you fancy it.

20 thoughts on “Five Photos, Five Stories #3

  1. Wow, what a stunning view. It would be easy to sit and watch that all day.

  2. I love Fira!! Santorini is such a beautiful place, and you’ve captured the view from there perfectly, Elaine. 🙂

  3. Ah, I’d love to go back to the Cyclades islands, but I bet they have changed a lot since I was last there (40 years ago)

    • You must have been but a babe in arms when you were last there. 😉 I expect you would see a lot more building, especially hotels on the other side of the island from Fira, but there is still a lot of quiet countryside, and the buildings clinging to the cliffs will just be the same I would think.

      • I only remember Santorini at night for some reason. Steep climb up to a town (we were offered donkeys, but I felt sorry for them). I did spend two weeks on IOS though, mainly because the once-weekly ferry was cancelled due to a storm!

        • We did many steep climbs and finally, after a day when we seemed to do a lot of them, I decided that a donkey ride would be a good option (I felt a bit sorry for them too). It didn’t feel the safest thing to be doing, but I did manage to get to the top without falling off. 🙂

  4. A lovely view indeed. Takes me back about 15 years to our Greek Island cruise. Loved Santorini. 🙂

  5. Santorini is so lovely! Great photo!

  6. One of those views that make you sigh! So long ago for me, Elaine, yet still as lovely a place as I’ve ever been 🙂
    Thanks for the nomination. I didn’t see the pingback so just found this as I was backtracking 🙂 I shall get up steam to do the challenge when I’ve caught up a little.

  7. Pingback: 5 photos, 5 stories | restlessjo

  8. Pingback: 5 photos, 5 stories- Day 2 | restlessjo

  9. Pingback: 5 photos, 5 stories- Day 3 | restlessjo

  10. Pingback: Six word Saturday | restlessjo

  11. Pingback: 5 photos, 5 stories- Day 5 | restlessjo

Now it's your turn

