I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

looking for bluebells

19 Comments

Today’s walk is in Whippendell Wood in Hertfordshire.  It is an ancient woodland, meaning it has been continuously wooded since at least 1600, and has an avenue of lime trees which dates back to 1672 when it was part of a large country estate and was used to provide timber, firewood and game hunting.  It is also a site of Special Scientific Interest due to its semi-natural vegetation, the rich variety of fungi and the invertebrate fauna.

So that’s the background, let’s get on with the walk.

Some woodland management seems to have been going on.  Normally fallen trees are left to rot in situ, but it looks like an area has been cleared for some reason.

pile of logs

It’s not long before I have my first sight of drifts of beautiful bluebells

bluebell wood

Whippendell Wood 1

The path ahead takes me down a slope between the trees, the sunlight filtering through the leaves

Whippendell Wood 2

Whippendell Wood 3

After going down, now I need to go up

sleeper steps

more bluebells

I’m not sure what this structure is for, but there are a few here and there in the woods

stick teepee

drifting bluebells

 Now my walk has come full cirle and I can see the piles of logs in the distance
log pile
I hope you enjoyed our walk through the woods.
I’m linking this with Jo’s Monday Walk so, if you have the energy and feel up to it,  you could go over to her blog and enjoy another walk.
19 thoughts on “looking for bluebells

  1. How beautiful are those drifts of bluebells. I would really enjoy this walk, so thanks for taking me along today Elaine.

  2. T’was a lovely walk, with just the right amounts of sun and shade. And oh, those bluebells!

  3. Many thanks for joining me, Elaine 🙂 Your bluebells are gorgeous! The colours are great in your photos. Here’s hoping for a good Bank Holiday weekend. Cheers for the link 🙂

  4. What a lovely peaceful walk and how nice to see the bluebells. The structures you mention look like kids have been building dens – probably one of those 50 things to do before you reach 11 and three-quarters! Have a nice rest of the week 🙂

  5. How I love walking amongst bluebells. It’s about time I began exploring England. There is so much to delight in easy reach of home and I’ve never taken advantage of it. Your pictures are delightful.

    Visit Keith’s Ramblings!

  6. What beautiful photographs! I haven’t come across bluebells in Sweden, but will be visiting my parents in England next week so will definitely plan a country walk and hope I’m in time!

  7. Lovely place to go walking, Elaine. Your photos are wonderful. 🙂

  8. Elaine,
    Wow, what fabulous photographs of these amazing bluebells! .. and I’m quite surprised by the “carpet” colour effect of them, it’s nice and bright and puts a smile on your face 🙂

  9. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : Podziemia | restlessjo

Now it's your turn

