I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

weekly photo challenge: ROY G. BIV

24 Comments

This week we are asked to share a photo (or photos) which show all the colours of the rainbow – red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet.  The mnemonic I know to help me remember the order of the colours isn’t Roy G. Biv, but Richard Of York Gave Battle In Vain.

Anyway, on to the photo.  This elephant was in a local shopping mall the summer before last as part of the Elephant Parade, which is an exhibition of decorated elephant statues seeking to raise public awareness and support for Asian elephant conservation.  You can see many more in a post I wrote about them.   The Parade is still on tour around the world and this year will visit Bangkok, Calais and Florianopolis in Brazil.

This is Kiku, designed by Chris Chun.  The design is inspired by kimono fabric.

This is Kiku, designed by Chris Chun. The design is inspired by kimono fabric.

Kiku's eye

Kiku’s eye

Weekly Photo Challenge

24 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge: ROY G. BIV

  1. Gorgeous and such a great cause.

  2. I love coming across these statues – I remember someone writing about the ones in London several years ago, though I think they were possibly African elephants. And I came across a Rhino in Australia. Such a beautiful way to get us to think about what we are about to lose. And Roy G. Biv? I find that harder to remember than the actual colours!! But I suppose dear old Richard of York doesn’t mean much to our cousins over the pond 🙂

  3. This is fabulous, and yes, I am more familiar with the ‘duke of York’ one

  4. Now how cool is this? Just like my fish and frogs! Love it! Elephants…How great!

  5. He’s beautiful, or perhaps handsome is a better word. 🙂

    janet

  6. That’s a terrific photo. We had elephant statues around London some years ago. More recently weve had horses in Cheltenham, hares in Cirencester, dogs in Bristol etc etc! They do add a splash of colour though so i enjoy them.

  7. How cute! Great pic! 🙂

  8. Magnificently handsome, I think is the description, and yours must be one of the most unusual responses this week, Elaine. 🙂 What a great cause! Would it be greedy of me to want to see them in Brazil? 🙂 (I’ll have to settle for Shaun the Sheep in Bristol- I think he’s there when I visit this August 🙂 )

  9. Wow, that’s gorgeous- I want it!

Now it's your turn

