I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Friday letters – the first August edition

10 Comments

Dear laptop,  Having had to have you reset to factory settings resulting in losing all my bookmarked pages is really annoying.  I just thought I would share that thought with you.

Dear new shed,   The concrete base is down now and ready for you. I am really looking forward to your arrival next week so that we can get all the garden tools etc. stored properly again.

Dear ladies in the cafe,  Would it not have seemed more logical to sit beside each other at the same table than to chat in very loud  voices across the, quite wide, gap between your separate tables?  My mum and I, and the rest of the customers, didn’t really want to know all about your personal business.

Dear pedestrians,  Please look for oncoming traffic BEFORE you step off the kerb and onto the road.

Dear soft toys tied on the front of refuse collection lorries,  I feel so sorry for you, tied on to the front of these vehicles.  I know the people who work on the lorries feel they are doing a good thing, brightening up their vehicle and cheering up the people they see as they drive around, but I always think you look so sad, especially when you have been tied on round your neck.  Maybe I’m wrong and you are all as happy as sand-boys, watching the world go by on your daily trips around the neighbourhood.  Perhaps one of you could let me know next time you are passing.

Dear sand-boys, Who are you, and who decided that you are the happiest people?

binlorrymascotHave a good Friday.

10 thoughts on “Friday letters – the first August edition

  1. How annoying to lose your favourites. I believe there is a way to copy them, but I’m not sure how to do it. Too late now anyway. Have a lovely weekend.

  2. Ah, don’t you just ❤ technology? As for those tied on soft toys I just think they look spooky… I wonder (without using Mr Google as I really must go to bed) if sandboys are related to the Sandman, who was something to do with sleep.

    • I had a quick look on Google, and the general consensus seems to be that they were the boys who put sand on the floor in drinking houses, to mop up spills etc and were paid in beer, therefore making them happy. Hmmmm, I had imagined maybe they were happily playing on the beach somewhere!
      I agree, the tied on toys do look spooky, especially when they have been there for a while and are grubby. It is the same with the soft toys that are tied to lampposts or fences, along with flowers, at the scenes of accidents. The flowers fade and decompose but the teddy bears hang on and look terribly sad.

  3. I guess those soft toys are lucky to have been rescued from the rest of the trash. I’m sure they prefer joy riding around to lying in a smelly rubbish tip. Think of them as survivors. 🙂 Happy weekend, Elaine.

  4. Your posts always make me smile!

  5. I see those ladies in the cafe all the time……dear God, I wish they’d just move into the same section! Sounds like you’re having quite the frustrations lately with pedestrians, patrons, and the like……glad there are balances like new shed on the way and a good visit with Mum….

Now it's your turn

