I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Friday letters – the first September edition

14 Comments

Dear September,  Why are you here so soon?  I have nothing against you per se, it’s just that I’m not quite ready for the 9th month of the year.

Dear worms, I noticed yesterday that you have been active in our lawn again, which means months of little muddy piles of your casts.  I know that your presence is beneficial for the grass, but it doesn’t look good, especially when the casts are flattened by feet, or the wheels of the mower.  The gardening books say to brush the casts over the grass to disperse them before mowing, but that never seems to work with me as they never dry out enough.  Could I request that you leave dry casts, rather than damp ones?

Dear mint tea,  You are my favourite.  You are not a recent discovery, but I thought it was time to drop you a line and let you know that you are my hot drink of choice.

Dear hot chocolate,  Please don’t be concerned that I have told mint tea that it is my favourite hot drink – you are still the best drink on a chilly winter’s day.

Dear visitors,  It has been lovely having you over the last few weeks.

Dear Clue Quest,  Another hour of great fun was had last week, trying to escape from your locked room.  Being locked in for 60 minutes with one’s family might not be many people’s idea of fun, but we enjoyed it immensely.  We are very pleased that we managed to escape within the allotted time – I’m not sure how we would have dealt with it if we hadn’t succeeded!  Last year we got out of your Plan 52 room with plenty of time to spare, but this year’s room, Operation Black Sheep,  was more of a challenge and we made it with just minutes on the clock.  We are looking forward to trying out your third room next time.

Plan52_pics_00

I hope everyone has a good Friday.

14 thoughts on “Friday letters – the first September edition

  1. Happy Friday to you! Ugh, Bev posted something about Christmas yesterday – I know what you mean about the year flying!

  2. Clue Quest….is that anything like the Hint Hunt in London? Loved that!

  3. Is ClueQuest an online game?

    You must have a lot of worms in your garden if they’re leaving their calling cards everywhere. I’ve never seen that here. Our soil is probably the opposite of yours…too dry for worms.

    • Clue Quest is a ‘live’ game, where they shut you into an actual room. Great fun.
      I think we have enough worms in our garden to cover the south east of England judging by the numbers of casts there are. Even after a long dry spell (rare, but it has been known!) we still get them at the end of the summer and all through autumn and winter.

Now it's your turn

