I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Friday letters – the first October edition

12 Comments

Dear weather,  I’m enjoying this late burst of warmth and sunshine.

Dear rugby,  It was a good visit to Leeds on Sunday in the late summer/early autumn sunshine to see a match with a great result for Scotland.  I was wearing my Scotland shirt and had my Scottish flag with me, ready to wave every time we scored some points.  I was quietly confident that Scotland were going to do well, because they had won their previous match handsomely, however as the first half of the match unfolded it was clear that either the USA had been practising hard, or Scotland had forgotten how to play!  At half time I decided to put the flag away into my pocket partly in protest and partly because it didn’t look as though I was going to have much need of it.  But… Scotland must have had a severe talking to in the changing room at half time because they played like a different team in the second half and the flag came back out of my pocket many times as they piled on the points.  Of course I was totally biased but I thought it was a fantastic game in the end despite the poor start.

Dear London,  You looked magnificent in the sunshine on Wednesday as I walked around doing some sightseeing with two colleagues of Mr Decisive’s who are visiting from the USA.  We saw Leicester Square, Trafalgar Square, St James’s Park (where we stopped for a drink in the cafe by the lake) and Buckingham Palace before making our way through Green Park to Piccadilly, Regent Street and then on to Covent Garden for dinner.  Although I have lived near you for nearly 30 years now, and have visited many times, that was the first time I have stood right beside the railings of Buckingham Palace and looked in.

Buckingham Palace

It’s not clear in the photo, but the Union Flag was flying on the flag pole on top of the palace, which meant that the Queen was not in residence. If she had been there, her Royal Standard would have been flying.

Detail on gates of Buckingham Palace

Detail on the gates of Buckingham Palace

Dear Fortnum and Mason,  It’s nice to see that you are embracing autumn in your store and not going straight from summer to Christmas as most of the other shops around here seem to be doing .  I took my sightseeing visitors in on Wednesday and we admired your beautiful autumn displays (in addition to your high quality, beautifully packaged, expensive goods).

Fortnum and Mason autumn display

Happy Friday everyone!

12 thoughts on “Friday letters – the first October edition

  1. Happy Friday Elaine, sounds like you had a great week and I love that autumnal display in the last picture. Enjoy the weekend while the weather lasts 🙂

  2. It’s always wonderful to visit London. I must make a point of going to Fortnum and Mason next time. I always seem to end up in Harrods. 🙂

  3. Yay rugby! I hope Scotland play well today. Apparently loads of people have come down to Newcastle for it so the atmosphere should be good.

  4. Love the shot of the gates 🙂 (forgot to say there was a Snoopy at the sand sculptures- I didn’t get a very good shot 😦 )

Now it's your turn

