I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Friday letters – the final October edition

15 Comments

Dear weather gods,  Well, you managed decent weather for my drive up to Scotland and the countryside of the Lake District and Scottish lowlands looked stunning.  I’m a little disappointed that you haven’t been able to maintain that though, and we are back to having the usual rain interspersed with the odd bright interval.

Dear motorway drivers,  I wish you would realise that weaving in and out of the lanes when the traffic is moving really slowly just holds things up even more.

Dear autumn colours, I have been spotting you everywhere this week; in the red brake lights of the cars in front of me on the motorway as we slowed to a standstill and in the red warning signs telling us that the speed limit has lowered because of an incident ahead; in the orange of the traffic cones which direct the traffic through the roadworks; in the yellow of the barriers which keep the people and the cars away from the dug up sections of the road and pavement…  Luckily I have also seen you looking magnificent on the many trees that line the roads and cover the hillsides.

Dear Jaffa Cakes, I’m sure you used to be bigger!

jaffa cakes

Happy Friday everyone!

15 thoughts on “Friday letters – the final October edition

  1. I just love that you write letters to your Jaffa Cakes. It made me chortle 🙂

  2. Weather the same over here……back to rain and the fall colours fading……..

    Jaffa Cakes just following the trend of all the other oldies but goodies…..sigh.

  3. Hehehe. Yes, all the chocolate treats used to be much bigger. I remember when Mars Bars were positively HUGE! Now they’re disappointingly minute. 😦 Glad you saw beautiful autumn colours in nature and not just in the traffic. Hope the bright intervals become longer than the rainy ones. 🙂

  4. There’s orange in Jaffa cakes, too 🙂 Were the Jaffa cakes bigger, or did a smaller Elaine hold them in smaller hands when she had her first Jaffa cakes?

    • Ooh, I hadn’t thought about the jaffa cakes being autumnal colours – I was too busy being disappointed by their size. Two bites and they were gone, when I am sure (in the not too distant past) they took much longer than that (or maybe I used to eat them more daintily).

  5. JAFFA CAKES!!! That’s all I have to say today 😉

  6. Never much fun on the motorway, Elaine. Even when the trees are lovely, the driving isn’t 😦

  7. Elaine, I think you’re right about the Jaffa Cakes. Most definitely smaller… I can eat them in one now, and I’ve never been able to do that before!!!

Now it's your turn

