I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

weekly photo challenge: ornate

14 Comments

Having had a delicious meal in the Trastavere area of Rome one evening, we continued our meandering around the narrow cobbled streets and alleys and came upon a small piazza (these piazzas are everywhere!) where there were some street performers.  As we watched one of the performers, we noticed quite a few people coming out of a building in the corner opposite us and decided to go and see what was going on.  It turned out to be a church and the people were leaving at the end of a service.  We wandered in, as a few others seemed to be doing, and were rewarded with the sight of the most beautiful, ornate ceilings.

Santa Maria Basilica

Santa Maria Basilica 5

Santa Maria Basilica 4

Santa Maria Basilica 3

The church was still full of people chatting after the service, so it wasn’t possible to stand in a position to photograph the whole of the magnificent interior, but you can imagine from this small sample what it was like.

It wasn’t until we got back to our hotel, and I was looking at our Rome guide book, that we discovered that the Basilica of Santa Maria in Trastavere is one of the Top Ten ‘must see’ sights in Rome – I can see why.  The present building dates from the 12th century, but historians believe that there has been a church on this site from as early as 350 AD.

Weekly Photo Challenge

14 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge: ornate

  1. It looks beautiful Elaine. Rome is still on my list x

  2. Isn’t it wonderful when we stumble upon something so magnificent purely by accident? What a surprising and beautiful discovery!

  3. You had one of those happy accidents! I would love to visit there sometime.

  4. Lovely! I was in Trastevere this summer, but was so unfortunate to arrive just when they closed for the afternoon prayers 😒 And my flight didn’t allow me to stay longer… Well, there should always be a reason to return, right?

  5. How magnificent, Elaine. So fortunate that you were drawn to go inside. 🙂

  6. That was a lucky find. What beautiful workmanship.

  7. This is one of my favourite churches in Rome and I must have been there about 30 times! My first visit was with an amazing tour-guide who told us all about its history, how much gold was used and what all the images represent. I think the sheep are the twelve disciples and other figures represent the popes of the day (don’t quote me on that!). Did you see the beautiful stained glass windows at the opposite side of the church? Incredible colours x

    • When I am next in Rome I will be heading straight for that church to have a good look round inside. Because a community service had just finished and people were milling around chatting with each other, we didn’t like to wander around too much, or take too many photos. I think you must be right about the sheep and the twelve figures – that’s what I thought too. I didn’t notice any of the stained glass windows – probably because I was so mesmerised by the gold and the paintings.

Now it's your turn

