I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Ice cream cake

6 Comments

It’s a while since I posted a favourite recipe (and my Lemon Drizzle Cake one is still the most popular post I have written!), so here’s a delicious ‘cake’ I made recently.  It is really just a lot of chocolate and ice cream – who could resist? What I particularly like about this (apart from the ingredients!) is that is is very adaptable and can be made well in advance and just kept in the freezer until required.

ice cream cake

I don’t think my picture makes it look as appetising as it is in the flesh and as the eager hordes were waiting to eat it I couldn’t spend time trying to take a better one, so here is the photo from the recipe book (and you will see why I was tempted to try making it originally!). I also forgot to take a photo of it after a slice had been cut out.

ice cream cake book photo

Ice cream cake

(Ingredients to fit a 7″ tin)

1 litre of vanilla ice cream

6 or 7  Bourbon biscuits (save one to use for the top of the cake if you like)

3 chocolate flakes

3 Crunchie bars

ice cream cake ingredients1. Take the ice cream out of the freezer and allow it to soften slightly for a little while until it is just workable with a spoon but not at all runny.

2.  Line a 7″ baking tin (or similar) with cling film so that the bottom and sides are covered and you have some overhang at the top.

3. Break up the biscuits until you have some crumbs and bigger pieces. I find using a rolling pin and a plastic bag is the best way.

step 1

4. Break up 2 Flakes and 2 Crunchies into dust and shards.

step 2

5. Put the softened ice cream into a bowl and mix in the biscuits.

step 3

6. Add the Flakes and Crunchies and mix in.

step 4

step 5

7.  Scrape the mixture into the prepared tin, making sure it goes right to the sides, and flattening the top like a cake.

step 6

8.  Fold the cling film over the top to cover it and put it into the freezer to firm up.

9.  Serve the cake straight from the freezer by taking it out of the tin and removing the cling film carefully before putting it on a plate.

10.  Sprinkle the top of the cake with the remaining crumbled Flake and Crunchie, and/or Bourbon biscuits.

It is delicious served with a hot chocolate sauce (no picture I’m afraid).

Adaptations

If you like peanuts, you could add about 50g of honey roast peanuts and leave out one of the Flakes and/or Crunchies.

Instead of serving with hot chocolate sauce you could try butterscotch, or peanut.  Or, if you are throwing caution to the wind make all three!

You could replace the Bourbon biscuits with any other kind of biscuit – I thought Oreos might work well, but I haven’t tried them yet.

6 thoughts on “Ice cream cake

  1. Wow. I never thought of making my own ice cream cake….I think my guys here are probably going to be really grateful to you for this one!

  2. I think one could put on weight just looking at those ingredients, Elaine. It does look very moreish though. 🙂

  3. Oh my, it looks amazing. Justin Beaver thinks you should try a version with Caramello Koalas!

Now it's your turn

