I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Book shops

33 Comments

ANY RESISTANCE TO BOOKSHOPS IS FUTILE

I blame my daughter. Last weekend she suggested we call into the Picadilly branch of Waterstones when we were in London because she had some gift tokens to use.  It crossed my mind (fleetingly I admit, very fleetingly) to say that I would rather not, because I didn’t want to be tempted to add to the pile of books waiting to be read.  The result of the visit is that I now have two more books… There was just so much loveliness over the five floors of books that I think perhaps I was lucky just to get away with two!

snoopy storyTo read more sets of six words for a Saturday head over to Cate at Show My Face.

33 thoughts on “Book shops

  1. You can’t resist buying when you’re in a bookstore. It’s just not normal to leave a bookstore empty-handed. 😉

  2. Yes, you got off very lightly indeed. 🙂 Love the Snoopy.

  3. I love your 6 words! Yes, absolutely futile 🙂 What did you get?

    • I was attracted by a book by Celia Imrie. I like her on TV, so thought I might enjoy a book she has written. It is called Not Quite Nice, and I imagine it will an amusing, easy read which doesn’t require me to think too deeply. The other book is called The Confabulist, by Steven Galloway and is about the lives of Harry Houdini and Martin Strauss (who is alleged to have killed Houdini by punching him). It has some good reviews and one reviewer says it as mesmerising as The Night Circus, which is one of my favourite books. The deal was buy one, get one half price – how could I refuse? 🙂

  4. I can never read all the books I have downloaded for free on my Nook!

  5. Too cute! I can’t even resist Amazon!

  6. Neither can I! I was looking at Amazon yesterday for something completely unrelated to books and, of course, lots of book titles were suggested as ‘You might like these’. I had to be very strong and ignore them. It was hard!

  7. It takes a strong will to walk out of a book shop (or Amazon) without giving in to temptation. I have just given dozens of books to charity, but still picked up a couple from a book exchange shelf in a pub I went in to 😦

  8. I love bookshops, Elaine. Even the isle in the supermarket that sells books has a certain pull!

  9. I must take a trip to the Waterstones in Piccadilly; just being in a bookshop is my idea of heaven. Add a coffee shop (and loos!) and that’s the perfect day trip 🙂

  10. Think you were lucky to get out with just two 🙂 I love book shops!

  11. I’m impressed that you were able to stop at two books. Happy reading.

Now it's your turn

