I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

bird feeder

22 Comments

WHO IS ON THE FEEDER TODAY?

For quite a while now one of our bird feeders has been dominated by woodpeckers, with the occasional visit by bluetits, but yesterday afternoon I spotted this visitor.

Who do you think it is?

beady eyeNot sure? Here’s a bit of a clue – a touch of red…

hint of red

Were you correct?

robin

Robins are normally ground or bird table feeders, preferring to eat insects, worms, berries and seeds, but this one seems to be adventurous.

robin2

To read more sets of six words for a Saturday visit Cate at Show My Face.

22 thoughts on “bird feeder

  1. English robins are different from the ones in the US. I want to go and Google this.

  2. cheeky chappies, Robins. If it weren’t for the red, it would have been what Bill Oddy calls “a little brown job”

  3. We used to have a feeder, but the seed got too expensive. Now, we feed only hummingbirds.

  4. What a beautiful bird! Doesn’t look anything like the robins we have in the US.

  5. Such a cute visitor, Elaine. Robins always remind me of my childhood in England. 🙂

  6. He looks to be making himself at home, Elaine. 🙂 A restful weekend ahead? Are you back to school next week, or another one off?

  7. That’s a fine looking robin, Elaine. We get them around here from time to time! 😀

  8. nothing like our robins! Cheers!

  9. At first I thought he was a sparrow, until he turned round to show off his handsome red chest. What a cutie.

  10. always a surprise to see how different the european birds look from our own–I suspect the first settlers here saw a bird that looked ‘almost’ like their robin and that was it. genetiically, I wonder if they’re the same bird with color shift/evolution in the mix. Those are great shots, btw.

  11. So cute!! I love Robins, and I’m jealous of all your different birds.

Now it's your turn

