I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Friday letters – the early May edition

13 Comments

Dear supermarket shopper,  I don’t know if you were shoplifting (and if you were, you were being very blatant about it!), or were just saving wear and tear on supermarket baskets and trolleys, but I was quite surprised to see you wandering round putting your purchases straight into your shopping bag. I don’t know what happened when you had picked up everything you needed and were leaving because I had to get away from you to a different section of the shop – whichever shelf I wanted to look at, or pick something up from, you were there in front of me and it was getting really annoying!  I lost track of you then and my goldfish memory meant I forgot to look out for you at the checkout.

Dear goldfish, I am sorry if I am doing you a disservice, but people say you have a memory which lasts only minutes and that’s what seems to happen to me quite a lot.  I think of something I need to do, or get, and while I am on my way to do, or get, that thing I forget what it was.

Dear weather,  It’s been lovely to enjoy a few days of warm sunshine.  I even managed to sit outside to eat my lunch yesterday.  Of course, the downside to that is that the grass and weeds are growing like …. well… weeds,  and will have to be dealt with much sooner than I had planned.

Dear summer shoes,  It is nice to have the chance to wear you again – even if it’s just going to be for a few days – and not be wearing socks (even though I love a new pair of socks, I still prefer weather which means that I don’t need to wear socks at all!).

Dear woodpecker,  Please be careful with the tree and don’t peck at it too hard – it might still be a little traumatised after its ‘haircut’ last week.

woodpecker

Happy Friday everyone!

13 thoughts on “Friday letters – the early May edition

  1. Woodpecker! You’re so lucky with all your wildlife.

    I can’t believe we’re in May already. Where did April go?!

  2. Gorgeous woodpecker photo, Elaine. Hope you can be sockless this weekend. 🙂

  3. Love your woody woodpecker! And my toesies were very happy to see daylight yesterday, even though I really do need to buy a new pair of sandals. Looks like you are in for a hot few days – we have high cloud today which doesn’t look like being burned off. Still pleasantly mild though.

    • Every time I see a woodpecker, I reach for the camera – always trying to get a better photo than the one before. I think we have three that visit, but I have only seen two at the same time. Hope you get your new sandals, and get plenty of use from them.

  4. We had a goldfish for nine years. His name was Fish and he had the memory of an elephant. When anyone walked into the room he would go crazy at the top of the tank, because he thought he would get fed. Mr ET fell for it every time.

  5. My maths teacher always told me I had the intelligence of an ant… it was meant to be an insult but I like to think that ants must be pretty clever to work together so well. I’m reclaiming his comment as a compliment!!

  6. That’s funny, your first letter reminded me of my habit in the library, i.e. putting books straight into my bag to make them easier to lug around before getting them checked out. When I first started that system I felt I had to do it surreptitiously in case anyone thought I was pinching the books, but then I realised that being secretive about it only made it look more suspicious, so now I do it very blatantly and I wonder if the same thing was going on with your supermarket shopper. Mind you, library books and goods for sale in a supermarket are two different kettles of fish and I don’t think I’d have the brass neck to bag supermarket items before paying for them. Perhaps the potential shoplifter didn’t have a car and was going to have to carry everything they bought home with them. In that case they would want to be sure everything would fit into their shopping bag and they could bear the burden okay.

    • Funnily enough, if I had seen someone in the library just popping books in their bag I probably wouldn’t have given them a second glance because I know it can be hard holding a big pile of books while looking round but in a supermarket it just seemed so unusual. I think she was probably just using her bag instead of a basket and probably for the reason you suggest. 🙂

Now it's your turn

