I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

cake and songs

19 Comments

LEMON DRIZZLE CAKE STILL VERY POPULAR

EUROVISION SONG CONTEST IS ON TONIGHT

I wrote a post just over three years ago about making a lemon drizzle cake.  Despite all the amusing/insightful/fabulous/life enhancing posts I have written since then it is ALWAYS the most popular post of the week.  In the early years of blogging I used to look at my stats quite regularly to see the search terms that brought readers to the blog (until Google put a stop to that and therefore robbed many of us of a laugh) but I don’t bother now apart from the fact that the first page of the dashboard (where I go to get started on writing/publishing a post) always shows a quick overview of stats including the most popular posts of the last week.  Mary Berry and her lemon drizzle cake have been in the top spot for months and months and months – obviously lemon drizzle cake is not just one of my favourite cakes!

What is your favourite cake?

I’m looking forward to the Eurovision Song Contest tonight.  In the interest of time-saving (and recycling, which we are always encouraged to do!) here is a post I wrote about it two years ago.

I hope everyone has a good weekend.

To read more sets of six words for a Saturday head over to Cate at Show My Face.

19 thoughts on “cake and songs

  1. You’re the second blogger on 6ws today to talk about cakes. I personally like banana or greman chocolate.

  2. Lemon drizzle cake is yummy! I’ve made a chocolate cheesecake today and decorated it with the Swedish flag for Eurovision.

    I miss search terms. So few get through now. It’s all unknown.

  3. excuse me- where s the recipe? Have a great lemony day!

  4. I can’t remember the last time I watched a whole Eurovision, Elaine, but definitely back in Terry’s day. He was a lovely guy, wasn’t he? We usually watch the voting. 🙂 I’ve got tennis on. Rafa played a great match yesterday but I didn’t mean to watch Novak again tonight. Compelling sometimes though 🙂

  5. I like lemon drizzle cake too. I must make one again soon. The trouble then is that I have to eat it!

  6. Mmm, lemon drizzle cake and Eurovision?? That’s a great night right there 🙂

  7. I can understand your lemon drizzle cake post being popular, it is a smashing cake. I don’t know what my favourite cake is although I always ask for a caraway seed and peel cake for my birthday, so perhaps that’s my favourite. Then again, how about a moist and intensely chocolatey chocolate cake, or a meltingly soft Victoria sponge, or indeed a delicious carrot cake, a fruit-filled fruit cake or a wonderfully wholesome tasting walnut cake? As the saying goes, if cake be the food of love, bake on. The more cakes the merrier.

Now it's your turn

