I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

June: the essence of summer #2

11 Comments

Yesterday, the summer solstice here in the northern hemisphere, was marked by miserable rain all morning before brightening up in the middle of the afternoon.  Until it dried up and the sun came out I was thinking that, sometimes, the essence of summer is the rain that affects people’s plans and dampens our spirits.

arum lily

Was anyone reminded of this song?

This post is linking up with The Earth Laughs in Flowers .

11 thoughts on “June: the essence of summer #2

  1. If you didn’t have the rain you wouldn’t have all these wonderful flowers Elaine.

  2. Just beautiful. Like teardrops on the flowers. Nourishing.

  3. I’m such an old misery that a rainy day is my idea of heaven. But I’m not alone…apparently British people secretly hope for a wet bank holiday weekend so they don’t have to go on day trips or do the garden – instead they can stay in and watch endless episodes of Game of Thrones without feeling guilty 😉

    • Oh goodness – I HATE rainy days. Not so much because I want to go out, but more because all my enthusiasm for anything seems to drain away. As for staying in and watching endless episodes of TV (probably not GOT, though I did give it a chance and watched the whole of the first series) I would feel guilty that I should be doing something like housework or ironing or clearing out the loft or something. 🙂

  4. Beautiful photos and a most apt soundtrack.

  5. Flowers in the rain – perfect! And definitely an essence of summer. But some flowers do look rather lovely with the raindrops, not my roses unfortunately as they have turned brown or lost their petals in the accompanying wind 😦

Now it's your turn

