I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Friday letters – the summer solstice edition

16 Comments

Dear weather gods,  The arrival of the summer solstice should herald warm sunny days, maybe with the odd light shower, and long evenings.  What has happened this year?  We have had wall to wall rain, with the added excitement of some torrential rain and flash floods in some parts of the south.  Can you please shape up and sort yourselves out. 

Dear garden weeds,  STOP GROWING.  I can’t keep up! It’s time for you to die back of your own accord I think – my hands are exhausted from trying to tame you.

Dear plants,  Just as soon as there is a decent break in the weather I will get the rest of you planted out into your proper positions either in the ground or in my tubs.

Dear woodpeckers,  I am so pleased that you are still very regular visitors to my garden.

two woodpeckers

Happy Friday!

16 thoughts on “Friday letters – the summer solstice edition

  1. Aww, woodpeckers!!
    It’s actually sunny here… for now…

  2. Beautiful woodies Elaine. I too am barely keeping up with the weeds! Today has been sunshine and showers and woke to a glorious rain-washed sky of indigo and cornflower blue. Could do with some heat though, my tomatoes are hardly growing at all!

  3. It’s El Nino’s fault, Elaine. The rain. El Nino gives the reverse weather effect, so when we expect light sprinkles, we get heavy prolonged downpours! (So I’m led to believe!)

  4. What a terrific shot of the woodpeckers. I know what you mean about weeds – flourishing beautifully.

  5. Definitely a letter to El Nino will make all the difference, Elaine. We’ve had a lovely week over here… well, maybe 3 or 4 days 🙂

  6. I can never understand why weeds grow faster than legitimate plants. 😕 Love your woodpeckers.

Now it's your turn

