I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

A blustery afternoon in Largs

19 Comments

My recent visit to my mum’s was marred by mainly dull, damp and dreary weather, but we decided that after 4 days of waiting for better weather, we would just drive to the coast regardless, and if it was too bad when we got there we could just turn round and come back!

So, on Saturday we set off for Largs, on the Clyde coast, our aim to have lunch in our favourite restaurant followed by a walk along the promenade.  The journey was uneventful and the skies were clear enough that we could see the hills in the distance as we journeyed along (the first time we had been able to see them clearly for 5 days!) and all was going well until we approached Largs when a few spots of rain started to fall.  As we queued to get into the promenade-side car park, the rain got heavier and we watched as people hurriedly put up their umbrellas, or fastened their raincoats (a day trip to the seaside in Scotland should always feature at least one of these items), many of them making for their cars.  The result of this was that we didn’t have to wait for as long as we had expected to get through the car park barrier and into a spot close to the restaurant.

Nardini’s is a Largs institution which my mother has visited since she was a young woman when she and friends would take a bus trip to Largs after work in the summer.  She also went to the town on holidays with her family in the late 1920s/early 1930s so it was a trip down memory lane.

We were lucky and were shown to a seat straight away – in the section of the cafe nearest to the grand piano, where a pianist was playing for our entertainment.

We had a quick look at the menu, although it was just a formality really. There was no question about what we were going to eat – fish and chips in Nardini’s is the thing to have!  We had a regular portion each – I have no idea how anyone could manage a large one!  To follow we had ice cream – which is what Nardini’s was originally known for, and it would be all wrong to go there and not have one!  I had two scoops with a topping of tablet, and my mum had a child size knickerbocker glory (with a randomly chosen German flag!).  Everything was delicious.

Meanwhile, the rain had eased and the view from the rain spattered window showed promise of brighter things to come.

view from Nardini's

In the better weather there would be tables and chairs out here, but not today.

The only way in and out of the cafe is through the ice cream parlour.   Having just had my delicious ice cream, I admired all the different flavours but wasn’t tempted (at that point – who’s to say I wouldn’t have managed some later!).

Once back outside we set off across the road towards the promenade and our walk along to the life boat station.  There were a few people doing the same thing – determined not to let the weather put them off.  In this part of the world if you wait for good weather, you might never do anything!

Largs prom

Largs prom

We had a quick look in the shop attached to the lifeboat station then made our way back towards the pier, where the ferry from Millport had just offloaded its vehicles and passengers.

We found an unoccupied bench (which wasn’t hard really as there were plenty of them and not too many people looking for a seat) and sat a while with our hoods up and collars held tight to our necks to keep the wind out and watched the activity around the pier, the ferry comings and goings and the few hardy people who were out with their dogs on the beach.

Even the seagull’s feathers were getting a bit ruffled.

P1010575 (640x480)

Feeling refreshed by the bracing breeze we headed back to the shelter of the car, and made our way home, but not before I noticed that the continuous onshore breeze had obviously been having quite an effect on the flags on top of Nardini’s!

flags

It’s a very short walk, but I am linking it with Jo’s Monday Walk.  Meander on over there and see where other people have been walking.

19 thoughts on “A blustery afternoon in Largs

  1. I’m not sure whether to speak top you any more, tempting me with ALL that ice-cream! And it’s not even lunch-time. I know exactly what you mean about being in the cloud for five days and not seeing anything, it makes you go stir crazy! Got one of those days here today after a week of really lovely summer weather. I enjoyed the short walk and the stiff breeze, and those fish and chips… how lovely for your mum to be able to visit places from her youth. I have never been back to where I spent my teenage years.

    • Sorry about the ice cream – but it was a collection too good not to share! I hope you’ll not cut me off… 😉
      It was my mum’s request to go there at some point during my visit – and she enjoys telling me about what they used to do, and which house they stayed in, and where they walked. It’s a shame she can’t manage the long walks any more, but at least we could admire it from the car. I’m fortunate in that I am always going back to where I spent my teenage years, because my mum still lives in the same house! 🙂

      • No getting away from it then! My parents moved away when they retired, not too sure why, but it meant I had no reason to go back.

        • My sister also lives near an area I used to visit a lot with friends (camping and canoeing), so there is no opportunity to forget my past (not that I would want to, thankfully!). I suppose I just take it for granted that I still spend a lot of time either in, or visiting, childhood/teenage haunts and of course still sleep in ‘my’ bedroom when I am at my mum’s. It would be odd if she moved away.

  2. I know quite a few of my walking friends who will never make it out of Nardini’s, Elaine! You wicked temptress 🙂 🙂 We had a similar portion of fish and chips in Skipton on Friday night and a very wicked cheesecake- I don’t really know where I put it! I didn’t take photos and the evidence is long since destroyed 🙂 🙂
    I’m slightly mystified by the tablet. It looks like slabs of fudge in your photo, but in the pic of the icecreams it looks quite different. It’s ok. It’s a nice subject to study 🙂 Many thanks for your company.

    • I have just discovered this comment languishing in my spam folder – how strange that it decided it would hide itself there!
      I tell you, it was very hard to leave Nardini’s via the ice cream displays – there was so much temptation there. Tablet can come in different shades, depending on how long it is cooked for, and the exact ingredients (some is made with condensed milk but some is still made just with milk and that affects the colour) but I think in this case it is just that in the ice cream display the tablet is crumbled onto the top of the ice cream whereas I had enormous chunks of it!

  3. Oh, you’ve made it sound so lovely that I wish I had been there to accompany you! The fish and chips and ice cream flavors all look so tempting!

    Glad that the rain held off so you could sit outside and enjoy the “breeze.”

  4. Your food looks delicious, and you’re so right about having to just grin and bear the erratic British weather. “Hoods up and collars held tight to our necks” reminds me of family visits to the seaside when I was a kid. I’m sure your mom had a really grand time with you, and the fresh sea air would do anyone the world of good. 🙂

  5. that ice-cream is screaming at me to eat it! my downfall at the moment though is a soft serve with a flake 🙂 however a scoop of the turkish delight you display will do me just fine thank you very much

    • I am so pleased that I am not a fan of soft serve ice cream, so I can easily turn that one down (though I could manage the flake!), however ‘real’ ice cream is a different kettle of fish! I’d never seen Turkish Delight ice cream before, but it looks very temping. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : Canalside in Skipton | restlessjo

  7. Wow I’d be daunted by a regular let alone a large portion!! What a perfect way though to spend a blustery afternoon . . . . so very British!

Now it's your turn

