I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Friday letters – the last August edition

29 Comments

Dear August,  We are nearly at the end already!  That’s hard to believe.

Dear birthday,  Surely it isn’t a whole year since I celebrated my last one?  Another thing that is hard to believe.

Dear weather, Thank you for being kind to us last weekend when we were celebrating two birthdays.  It’s always so much better when the sun shines and you can get outside.

Dear baby goldfinches,  I am so sorry that I didn’t have my camera handy when you were having a splash around in our birdbath.  You were the most bedraggled things I have seen for a long time, but you looked like you were having great fun.

Dear Victoria and Albert Museum,  On Monday I made my first visit, and  I can’t work out why I haven’t been before.  Now I feel I have a lot of time to make up!  I wasn’t prepared for how lovely it is inside, and how interesting the exhibits are. I think you might also win the prize for the coffee shop with the grandest decor.

chickengps

Happy Friday everyone!

29 thoughts on “Friday letters – the last August edition

  1. Elaine, I can’t believe you hadn’t been to the V&A before. You live in London! I’m so envious.

  2. Happy Birthday . . . even if it arrived “too soon.”

  3. I still haven’t been to the V&A! And happy belated birthday – they do seem to happen every 6 months as you grow older. But hey, at least it means cake more often 😀

  4. These pesky birthdays come around with alarming regularity especially as one gets older. 😕 Happy Birthday to you. Glad you enjoyed your first visit to the V&A.

  5. Happy belated birthday, Elaine, I’m glad you were able to celebrate with lovely weather. It’s many years since I visited the V&A but I remember being impressed. Your mention of the coffee shop makes me long to revisit.

  6. Happy belated birthday, Elaine. I’m glad you had great weather and a trip to the Victoria & Albert Museum. I know what you mean about going into the city. We live in the suburbs of Washington, D.C. and I always think it’s such a hassle to go into the city. Maybe that’s because I used to work there, and had an hour and a half commute EACH way!

    • We are very lucky because it is a very easy journey into the centre of London – a 25 minute walk from our house to the station and then a 20 minute train ride. I would hate to have that long commute that you had!

      • Oh that’s not bad at all. We live quite far from the city, 30 minutes by car when it’s not rush hour, but add all the traffic and the lane restrictions, or take the metro, and our commute is considerably extended!

        • Driving in would take us too long (unless it’s the middle of the night!) and parking costs in London are very high, so we find the train is ideal, and such an easy journey really (apart from at peak times where it is impossible to get a seat and the people who have to stand are all squashed up together).

Now it's your turn

