I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Birds in action

18 Comments

RED KITE AND PARAKEETS BATTLE ABOVE

THE ROBIN CAME TO VISIT AGAIN

Working in the garden yesterday afternoon I was aware of a lot of parakeets squawking.  I looked up into the skies and saw this (then rushed inside to get my camera, hoping that they would still be there when I came out!).

red-kite-and-parakeets

Eighteen parakeets were crowding round the red kite and trying to chase it off!  They got quite close to it, but didn’t seem to actually make contact.

parakeets-and-red-kite

I’m sure the robin can detect the sound of a spade in the earth! I was finishing off working on the path and I had hardly started before the little robin was there, standing on the grass about five feet away from me.  He stood and watched for a while then hopped onto a flower pot, keeping his beady eye on me, and then on to the birdbath where he had a little splash around before flying off.

To read more sets of six words for a Saturday head over to Cate at Show My Face.

18 thoughts on “Birds in action

  1. You have such interesting birds. We don’t get parakeets flying around here.

    • Parakeets are a relatively recent introduction to the country, and the story goes that originally it was a pair who escaped from a private collection. They are spreading out across the country and are not good news for the native birds because they are very adept at grabbing the best nesting sites. Red kites were in danger some years ago but their numbers are starting to increase again thankfully. You probably have birds that would be interesting to us, but dull and boring to you!

  2. I think I read that the activity is referred to as “mobbing”, even when it’s only 1 or 2:1

  3. Have a nice Saturday

    much love…

  4. You did well to get some good photos Elaine. I’ve decided robins are quite clever. We were at a lookout and a robin appeared on the fence in front of everybody. He seemed to know we were all entranced by him and he posed on the fence for photos for ages, turning this way and that so we could get his best profile. Then he flew down to the ground and did the same thing. He stood very still – very cooperative. The only thing is he insisted on standing on one leg so all my photos look like he is a one legged robin. He did have two legs, because Mr ET got one shot of him standing on two.

  5. I don’t think the parakeets have reached Cheshire yet – or my part of it anyway, Elaine – I have read that they are found in the south of the county, however – I shall have to keep my eyes peeled!

Now it's your turn

