I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Friday letters – the new laptop edition

19 Comments

Dear new laptop,  So far, so good.  I’ve only been using you for a day, but I am already enjoying the benefits of your speed and efficiency.  Hopefully the days of  ‘Not responding’ are far behind me.

Dear robin,  It was nice to see you yesterday, close to the house again, and also to spot you in my elderly neighbour’s garden when I popped round to help her out with a problem she was having with her radio.  It’s such a shame that her sight is not good enough to be able to see you.

Dear street sweeper,  I’m always sad to see you at this time of  year, sweeping up all the beautiful autumn leaves from the pavements and putting them into green plastic bags.  I’m sure it’s something to do with health and safety for the pedestrians, but you are denying many people the pleasure of kicking through piles of crisp leaves.

Dear mulled wine,  Yes, I know it is only November, but I think you count as an autumnal drink, not just a festive one.  Don’t you? I enjoyed the glass (or two) that I had last night.

Dear garden hedge,  The gardener made an excellent job of you yesterday and you are looking very neat and tidy.

I’m ending with a photo of the Heavy Horse sculpture which stands beside the motorway just outside Glasgow, on the road that takes me in and out on my journey to visit my mum.  When I passed last week it was wearing its large red poppy, so I thought that today, the 11th of November, was a very apt day to share the photo again.

photo courtesy of thesundaytimes.co.uk

photo courtesy of thesundaytimes.co.uk

 

19 thoughts on “Friday letters – the new laptop edition

  1. The horse looks good with his poppy.

    Our building services people came and took away all the leaves yesterday. There was no chance of anyone kicking through them though – it’s been raining most of the time since Saturday so they were more soggy than crisp.

    Mulled wine should be drunk as soon as it’s cold enough! They have it at the autumn fair here so I had some last weekend.

  2. If they have mulled wine at an autumn fair then I think that makes it official that it’s not just a drink for Christmas! 🙂 Soggy leaves aren’t much fun to kick through – we’ve been lucky here that it hasn’t been too wet.

  3. these posts are endearing Elaine – have you considered collecting them into an annual book?
    p.s. Dear New Laptop – please be as well behaved as Elaine’s model

  4. I used to like mulled wine, now I find it too sweet. Apparently hot spiced apple juice is nice 🙂

  5. I hope your romances with your laptop, robin, and mulled wine continue. It is always nice to have some things behave as you want.

  6. I’ve never seen the horse with its poppy – I know the pyramids at Livingstone usually have poppies (and other symbols at different times of year) but I didn’t know it happened at our end of the M8. Nice, and appropriate, idea.

  7. The horse looks magnificent with its poppy, Elaine. 🙂 I’m not having the same level of success with my laptop. It’s still a bit of a mystery to me, but then, I’m not very bright. It is pretty swift though 🙂

    • I took the easy way out and had the basic things loaded on to the laptop before I got it, or I would probably be struggling a bit. 😉 I still have to figure out how to transfer my music over (although I have been told what to do there is no certainty that I will actually be able to do it!). So far I am able to get my emails (but it all looks different, which I will take a while to get used to) and access the internet. The speed of a new laptop is very exciting, isn’t it? 🙂

  8. That’s a fine poppy for a fine horse, Elaine. I’ve never tried mulled wine… I may have to give it a go! 😀

  9. How exciting to have a new laptop and to see a robin.

  10. This is my favourite time of the year for all the reasons in your post – mulled wine, robins, autumnal leaves…yes, yes, yes!

Now it's your turn

