I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Friday letters

23 Comments

Dear traffic cones,  Driving back down the motorway earlier in the week, I saw that quite a number of you were having a nice pampering session at the side of the road – a bit of a hose down and a brush up.  Mind you, I’m not sure how long the benefits would last judging by the dirt that was being thrown up by all the passing traffic.  I felt a bit sorry for the cone I saw, all on its own, quite a few miles further on.  It was just sitting there on the hard shoulder, with a light on top of it, all alone – no roadworks, no dangerous item to warn motorists about, no obvious reason to be there – so I wondered if perhaps it had been badly behaved and had been sent off to think about its behaviour?

Dear Christmas mugs,  It’s nice to see you again.  All of our other mugs have been packed away so that you can enjoy your time in the spotlight.

Dear Christmas shopping,  I’m nearly finished!  I can hardly believe it considering that I only started a week ago.  It’s amazing what you can get done when you have a very restricted amount of time!

Dear daffodils,  I have just spotted you starting to appear in the little pot that’s been sitting near the back door since last spring (waiting for a decision to be taken about what to do with it).  You seem a bit early considering the very chilly weather we had recently. Actually, I am quite thrilled that you are appearing at all – I thought that pot had been ransacked by the squirrels. 

daffs-2

23 thoughts on “Friday letters

  1. What a truly fabulous blog post! Love it, Elaine. ~ Cobs. x

  2. Daffodils are the only bulbs that survive the rampages of critters in my yard. I think they’re toxic.

  3. Daffodils? Oooh, spring is on its way 🙂

  4. Daffodil shoots always give you a lift. Sadly mine are in the dead leaves phase now so I’ll have to wait till winter to see mine.

  5. I received a pretty new Christmas mug yesterday from a work colleague. It will be getting a good workout in the next two weeks.

  6. Daffodils? Now there’s a good sign, Elaine. I think you may have it wrong about the traffic cones, though. The one on its own with the light on was possibly the only well behaved one out of the lot, and the others were being given a good brushing down!

  7. Ha ha, that poor solitary traffic cone. It is nice to see the Christmas mugs again, we have the same tradition of changing them with the seasons.

  8. Woop! You make me believe that spring is coming 🙂 C’mon daffs!

  9. Congratulations on getting all your Christmas shopping done already! Enjoy your Christmas mugs! 🙂

  10. Christmas mugs are the best! I also have quite a few! Still not done any Christmas shopping though…

Now it's your turn

