I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Balboa Park – Japanese Friendship Garden

22 Comments

Balboa Park in San Diego, California has many beautiful areas, museums and gardens.  Today we are going for a walk round the Japanese Friendship Garden.  The garden started just as a teahouse, built for the 1915-16 Panama-California Exposition, but now covers 12 acres of the park.

It was a beautiful day when we visited and we took a slow meander along the paths, enjoying the peaceful atmosphere of the pools, river and waterfalls.

p1020138

p1020140

I am, cheekily, linking this post with two other bloggers.  First with Jude’s Garden Challenge, for which I have not contributed anything for quite a while. This month she has invited us to share Urban spaces and, as this garden is in the city of San Diego, it fits the bill perfectly.  The second link is to Jo’s Monday Walk, which I haven’t taken part in for a while either.  There isn’t much description for this walk, because I didn’t want to intrude on the peace and tranquility of it with my chatter. The Japanese garden is the sort of place where you quietly think your own thoughts, perhaps sitting on a bench for a little while admiring the view, or walking in quiet contemplation along the paths.  I hope you feel calmer for your visit.

22 thoughts on “Balboa Park – Japanese Friendship Garden

  1. It’s amazing that there are Japanese Gardens in every corner of the globe! You don’t get an American Garden or a British Garden or an Australian Garden, do you? And they are all oases of peace and tranquility.

    • Actually… you do find Australian gardens in some of our (English) botanic gardens – I recollect one on the Isle of Wight and there is one near me in Cornwall that is very much a southern hemisphere garden. I guess lots of places have English cottage gardens, but I can’t think off-hand what a typical American garden would look like as I suppose there isn’t one given the variations of their climate. I suppose a Japanese garden, and a Chinese garden, are very much a style of garden so fairly easy to recreate more or less anywhere.

  2. Absolutely stunning, Elaine, and thank you so much for thinking of me. 🙂 I never got to see this when we were at Balboa Park. (back in the Dark Ages 🙂 It was such a hot day that we were tiptoeing around the edge of buildings, trying to stay in shade. Me! Can you imagine? 🙂
    I love your festive Header. Wishing you the most joyful of Christmas times 🙂

    • It’s a shame you missed it when you were there, but I can imagine the difficulties of seeing everything whilst hugging the edges of buildings seeking the shade! My festive header is an advent calendar/card from a couple of years ago – I have another one this year which is fun to open.

  3. Such a peaceful place. It’s hard to believe it’s in the middle of a city.

  4. I love this place. I really miss San Diego! (grew up there!)
    Lovely shots and your blog “snowflakes” add a surreal element to the warm-day photos.

  5. Now how did I miss this Elaine? I have been to Balboa Park and didn’t find the Japanese Garden. So a BIG thank you for sharing this. If we ever visit SD again I shall make a point of hunting this out. I do like a tranquil garden.

    • Perhaps you arrived at a different part of the park? It is tucked away behind the organ pavilion – did you see that? In fact the day we were there, we could just hear the organ playing as we first walked into the garden but it soon faded away.

      • Just had a look at the map. We got off the bus near the Dersert Garden and then walked along El Prado between all the museums, visited the glasshouse and walked to the bridge over the Cabrillo Fwy, but missed the Japanese garden completely! Did you go in to any of the museums? We didn’t but they do look interesting.

        • We only went into one of the art galleries, but not a museum. I’d definitely go into some of them if I went to the park again. There is so much to see there that it would be impossible to do it all on on day, so we decided that floral things were going to be our focus and did the Japanes garden, the botanical building and the rose garden.

  6. Glorious pictures, Elaine, what a beautiful place. I’d love to visit California one day, but for now I feel delightfully rested, thank you.

  7. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : Christmas Magic in Roundhay | restlessjo

  8. Its beautiful….I missed the Garden when I visited Balboa…maybe next visit to San Diego.

  9. What a pretty walk, Elaine. I love Japanese gardens for their serenity. When were you in San Diego? Was it part of a larger trip?

  10. Pingback: Balboa Park | I used to be indecisive...

Now it's your turn

