I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Friday letters

20 Comments

Dear fingernails,  Please stop growing so quickly!

Dear microwave,  Well, you didn’t last very long.  I would have hoped to get a bit more use out of you before you gave up.

Dear black boots,  You sound quite different now that you have been re-heeled.  The business-like click, click, click as I walked (and which you had right from the start, not just because the heels were wearing down) has gone now which is a bit of shame, but at least I don’t announce my arrival quite so far in advance now.

Dear TV schedulers,  You are at it again – changing things round for the sake of it when they were working perfectly well.  You also seem to have a talent for putting decent dramas on at the same time as each other.  I know it’s so easy these days to record things, or to watch them on a catch-up service, but sometimes it is nice to watch something when it is actually being shown.

Dear potato peeler,  I’m still enjoying the novelty of having a peeler that works so efficiently.  A couple of readers have wondered what you look like, so here is your moment of glory.

img_3558

20 thoughts on “Friday letters

  1. I hate clacky shoes… it’s so embarrassing when I’m walking somewhere quiet and the only sound is my shoes going clack, clack, clack!

  2. I hope potato peeler makes the most of his moment of fame. He is very handsome. Isn’t it annoying when television programs are changed without warning – even more so when the recorder is set!

  3. I am so with you about the TV scheduling – feast or famine! Some nights there is nothing to watch and then three programmes on at once! We tend to record on the plus one channels to try and capture all of them, but this doesn’t work on BBC of course. Sigh…

  4. You do make me smile. And I’m thrilled if not a little jealous to see the potato peeler xx

  5. To my fingernails I would say “could you stop breaking so quickly, please?”

  6. I think your clicky boots and my squeaky shoes would have got on well together, Elaine…

  7. I’m glad you fixed your noisy shoes; I hate it when I have a pair that makes noises! I’m always frustrated by the inefficiency of potato peelers. Is this one really good? I may have to look for one like it! 🙂

    • The silencing of the boots was a fortunate byproduct of getting them reheeled – it’s taking me a while to get used to my new silent mode.
      Yes, the potato peeler is good, and sharp. I’ve had this style before and didn’t get on with them too well, but perhaps they weren’t sharp enough.

  8. Agree with the nails. Why is it when you paint your nails, they suddenly decide to grow twice as fast as usual. Wait for them to grow and they take their sweet time.

  9. Delighted to see the potato peeler, what a fine looking fellow.

Now it's your turn

