I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Through

13 Comments

Ooops, I’m a bit late joining in with Debbie’s One Word Sunday.

Grand Union Canal, Hertfordshire, October 2016

I thought this photo of the boat going through the bridge, making interesting reflections, was ideal for the challenge, and then I started thinking …  Do we go through a bridge, or should it be under?  If the bridge were wider (not longer), and more of a tunnel, we’d definitely say through wouldn’t we?  At what point do we change from under to through?  How wide would the bridge need to be?  Luckily there are some overhanging branches; the boat will be going through them – or will it be going under them too?  Now my head is hurting…

13 thoughts on “Through

  1. Interesting point, Elaine. It must be one of those unwritten rules that we just know. You’ve taken a very nice photo there.

  2. I guess it should be under, but I have arguments like this with myself all the time!!

  3. You are confusing me, Elaine. But your photo is beautiful, so I’ll just admire the scene and forget about the semantics. 🙂

  4. the points you raise seem sound enough to get government funding to really decide 🙂

  5. I love your photo, but my head is spinning. Through. Under. No, through. Or is it under? The spinning continues.

  6. I’m baffled, but happy to see such a lovely photo. 🙂

  7. Whatever the exact differences, I think the clever use of the reflection makes this a most definite through 🙂
    Lovely shot – thanks for joining

Now it's your turn

