I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Friday letters – the latest edition

7 Comments

Dear people in the south of England ,  I would like to apologise for the steady rain that we had in the first part of the week.  I’m afraid it’s all my fault because I decided, on Monday, to re-waterproof my waterproof jacket.  It’s always good to check that a process has been successful, but I wasn’t expecting it to rain that much.  Sorry.

Dear man in short floral shorts,  It was 9.30pm on a very wet, almost autumnal, night and there you were in your summer shorts.  Very brave I thought. 

Dear people dressed for summer on Wednesday,  Do you have some kind of special zone around you which repels cold, wet rain?  While the rest of the people in and around London were wrapped up in their wet weather, warm clothes, there you were in your shirt sleeves and skimpy tops with no apparent signs of being wet.  Even your shoes (light, summery ones) looked perfectly dry.  Whatever your secret is, I would like to know it.

Dear wine tasting evening,  You were very interesting and I learned a lot about  grapes and how to taste wine properly.  I’m afraid I failed completely to discern the notes of black fruits, apples, guava, buttered popcorn, burnt toast, autumn, leather and cedar wood in the selection of wines we tasted but at least I could tell the difference between the whites and reds.

Dear traffic cones,  Where have you gone?  Since I last wrote Friday letters I have made another trip to Scotland and back and hardly saw you.  There were a few, but not the vast quantities that usually line the roads (particularly when it is the school holidays) so where are you all? Perhaps you have put in for a transfer and have been moved to other parts of the country, bored with the M1, M6, M74 and M73.  I hope wherever you are that you are behaving yourselves. 

Dear fellow bloggers,  I keep saying I’ll soon have time to catch up with you all, but I’m afraid that hasn’t happened. As for writing posts, I’m not sure when I am going to get round to doing a proper post (not that this isn’t a proper post!) about my travels because I have another busy time coming up now starting with a weekend visit to the Norfolk coast to stay with friends and then next week we are having family stay with us for holiday fun and birthday celebrations.

Dear mandarin ducklings,  Huddling together on the canal towpath, with people walking or cycling past, seemed like a strange thing to do, but you seemed quite unaffected.  You didn’t even seem to mind when I stood very close beside you to take a picture.  Safety in numbers I suppose.

7 thoughts on “Friday letters – the latest edition

  1. Ducklings: “Mum told us to wait here.”

  2. I can tell you where the cones are, they’ve migrated north into Perthshire. The place is hotching with them at the moment. Lovely ducklings.

  3. Those fruity, earthy, woodsy notes in wine always elude me too. But I also am able to discern the differences between red and white, even pink, AND sweet and not. Woohoo!

  4. Those cones are not on the M42 or M5 either, but rather a lot of them hanging around the M1 near Derby. There does seem to be an increase of those variable speed cameras on the motorways, which nearly caught me out as I hadn’t realised they activate at 70 mph even if no speed is indicated. Luckily I don’t drive too fast on the motorways o_O

  5. Your once a week bit of fun always raises a smile or two, Elaine. Being busy, loved and wanted is definitely more important than being a slave to the blog. 🙂 🙂 Have a happy week ahead!

  6. How cute are those mandarin ducklings, Elaine? 🙂
    I think your weather’s spreading north now for the weekend… but never mind! It was a little too warm as it was anyway!
    And I have always wondered how, when I was out on a night like a drowned rat, almost everyone else was bone dry and in tip top condition. Me: hair gel dripping all over the place. Them: Perfect. Sigh.
    Have a great weekend, Elaine! 😀

  7. Maybe those scantily clad people came from a country where it’s winter most of the year and summers are mild. Last weekend on the bus on the way to the football (AFL) there was a family who looked Nordic. They too were dressed in lightweight clothing while the rest of us were warmly dressed in anticipation of the drop in temperature once the sun set. They must have thought it was summer time.

Now it's your turn

