I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Friday letters – the unicorn edition

18 Comments

Dear time,  I think I might have mentioned this before, but where do you go?  One minute I seem to have plenty of you and then the next moment there’s very little left.  It’s a puzzle.

Dear oldest agapanthus plant,  What a fabulous year you have had this year, and I’m very sorry that I didn’t take a picture of you.  Having had a bad year least year with only a few flowers, and a previous best performance of about 30 flowers, this year you produced 59.  You were wonderful.  Your newer, younger, floral compatriots would do well to take a leaf out of your book and up their production – each of them only managed about 5 blooms I think.

Dear conkers,  My experiment last autumn of putting a few of you on the window sill in the porch seems to have added weight to the suggestion that you keep spiders away.  In the last year I have not seen a single spider there.  Recently I read in the newspaper that you contain some kind of oil, the scent of which spiders dislike, which maybe explains why you manage to keep them away.  I think I’ll be putting you in a few other places in the house now.

Dear British Airways,  I’m sorry to say that your in flight meals are possibly the worst I have ever tasted.

Dear unicorns,  I feel very sorry for you these days.  I’m not sure when you became associated with rainbow manes, rainbow tails and rainbow horns instead of white?  You also seem to have been turned into some kind of cute cartoon creature instead of the magnificent silvery white beast representing Scotland in the Royal Arms of the United Kingdom.  If I were you, I’d be creating a bit of a fuss.

18 thoughts on “Friday letters – the unicorn edition

  1. Elaine,
    I didn’t know that chestnuts kept spiders away. I’m not sure we need any though because Himself is the spider catcher in our house, everyone else just screams, panics and waits for him to come to the rescue … yes we are wimps lol 🙂
    I totally agree too; time is flying by at an alarming rate, I mean it’s October already, the year is disappearing far too fast!

    • I had heard the chestnut thing last year, but more as an ‘old wives tale’ rather than as any kind of scientific fact, but this year I’ve read/heard about it in several places with some reasoning behind why they keep spiders away. I’m a bit of a wimp in the spider department too, but not as bad as I used to be!

  2. I agree with you about time. I had this week off and planned to get loads of things done but here it is Friday and I’ve run out of time. How?!

    The only food I’ve ever had on a British Airways flight is a sandwich. Those are generally okay… I mean, they’re just sandwiches but no worse than a supermarket sandwich. The best airline food I’ve had was with Emirates.

  3. I must remember not to fly with BA – can’t have bad food on a flight. I don’t think we get conkers where I live, but the flat side of a shoe works wonders for a spider. 🙂 Have you noticed the abundance of unicorn imposters around lately – cakes, fake horns on dogs etc. I understand your indignation, Elaine.

  4. I do know about conkers but I always forget to collect them. That has become my mission this weekend. A spider free house on return from the Algarve? Whoopee! 🙂 🙂 Have a great weekend, Elaine.

  5. Had never heard of conkers – but I do have some chestnuts in a dish on my sideboard and now that you mention it, I haven’t had the spiders I used to get since I put them out there. Interesting. I’d set more about, but the ones I have husband and I picked up when we were at Busch Gardens in British Columbia, which is a long ways to go to pick up chestnuts. I flew on BA once, many many years ago and it was really nice. But then, many many years ago, flying on any airline was much nicer.

    • Conkers and chestnuts are probably the same thing. We call horse chestnuts ‘conkers’, but sweet chestnuts are just called sweet chestnuts. 🙂 I’ve flown BA before and don’t remember it being bad at all, but my most recent flight definitely left a bit to be desired in the catering department. 😦

  6. Note to self: find some conkers
    Note to Friday Letters: where’s snoopy and the chickens? Haven’t seen them for a while.

  7. Time … I totally agree. Someone is stealing mine, for sure.

    Chestnuts … I found out about putting these along the windowsill about three years ago, and so I thought I’d test it out and laid them along my kitchen window, bathroom and all along the window in my craft room. THEY WORKED! I have no idea how or why, but I’m not going to question it. THEY WORK. And that’s enough for me. (’cause I’m scared witless of spiders.)

    GREAP post Elaine. Lots of fun.
    Have a blessed rest of your day ~ Cobs. x

  8. Interesting about the conkers, Elaine. I haven’t seen any spiders here, thank goodness. Our house seems to be insect-proof. 🙂

Now it's your turn

