I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Early November walk by the canal

10 Comments

Late afternoon on a sunny day in early November seemed like the perfect opportunity for a stroll in the park and along by the canal.

Walking up the path towards the canal bridge, there are signs of autumn on the ground, but there are still plenty of green leaves on these trees.

I took a brief detour to look at the site of an old, small watermill, which you can’t usually access, but water levels were low and so I could get over to it.

I then resumed my usual route, crossing the canal bridge first before walking along the tow path.

 

The autumn colours were glowing in the late afternoon.

This large watermill has been turned into apartments.

On my way back now and this narrow boat owner had decided it was chilly enough to light the fire.

I don’t blame him – I was headed home for a warming drink.

I’m linking up with Jo’s Monday Walk.

10 thoughts on “Early November walk by the canal

  1. I think I remember this one from before, Elaine. Haven’t we been blogging a long time? ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ Many thanks for thinking of me. Are you back from San Diego now and shivery? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • Yes, you are right on two counts – we’ve been blogging for a long time and I have posted about this walk in the past, although the water mill is a new addition – I’m pretty sure I haven’t shown that before. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve also shown the lock more than once. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Yes, back to shivery UK now. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. Perhaps I would walk more if I had a place like this to explore – right next door, because I dislike driving someplace so I can walk. I’m good at excuses to avoid exercise.

  3. Memories…it’s quite different from when we saw it at the end of summer. You are lucky to have such a beautiful place to walk through.

  4. I wouldn’t mind living in one of those apartments – if I could have a bit of garden of course ๐Ÿ˜€
    Such a lovely place for a walk. I miss walking along the river in Ludlow, it was always a pleasure to walk there with the trees and the peacefulness.

  5. Loved walking along canals – so much to see – so much history to imagine! On one of our walks near Bath, we met a canal boat owner who took tourists up and back. He didn’t have any passengers, so gave us a ride back to town! Our guests from Canada were particularly pleased with this unplanned adventure.

  6. Lovely. I do like a nice canal walk.

  7. Beautiful photos, Elaine, what a lovely place for a walk. I love the reflections in the water.

  8. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : Loving Lagos | restlessjo

  9. Great photos! I love walking along a canal with my dogs and this looks like a walk I would enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

Now it's your turn

